• Free Music Friday With Prince Rupert’s Drops And Nervous Curtains

    Welcome to another installment of Project Rhythm Seed’s Free Music Friday. Our featured bands today share a common affinity for psychedelic pop and 60’s music. The first, Prince Rupert’s Drops comes to us from Brooklyn, NY. Their track, “Pillar To Post” is a beat driven trip back to San Francisco’s Haight-Ashbury scene. Track 2 today comes to us from the Lone Star State’s Nervous Curtains. It’s called “Wired To Make Waves” and it has punk overtones, yet smacks of early Devo.

    We hope you enjoy both free tracks. Download them and use them as part of this weekend’s soundtrack. We’ll see you next week for more music news for music fans.

    Prince Rupert’s Drops
    At the inspired urging of original bassist Brad Truax (Home, Dan Melchior’s Broke Revue, Interpol) the somewhat secretive Prince Rupert’s Drops were formed in the Brooklyn of 2005, comprised of acclaimed comics-artist Leslie Stein (guitar, vox), fellow  former Broke Revue-er Bruno Meyrick-Jones (guitar, vox), and former Osprey Steve McGuirl (drums, percussion). The band soon drew comparisons to the likes of The GroundhogsCaptain Beefheart– a sound that quickly developed and broadened to accommodate the emerging song-writing styles of each member.

    Following Brad’s departure in 2008 to focus on high-end tour-managing, the band were joined by longtime friend and multi-talented bass-player Chad Laird (Land of Tomorrow, Jantar), thus adding another powerful cylinder to the songwriting engine. Their increasingly versatile and engaging approach has won them occupying support slots for acts broad in scope as psychedelic noiseniks Black Dice to country rockers Oakley Hall (to whom Steve has lent his talents on occasion).

    In 2012 PRD has been joined on stage and in the studio by another longtime-friend and former guest-musician, synthesizer-sorceress Kirsten Nordine (Jantar), turning the musical feast into a rich sonic banquet set to wow the ears of one and all. Here is “Pillar To Post” off of their upcoming debut LP release Run Slow:

    Prince Rupert’s Drops – Pillar to Post by PressWolfPR

    Nervous Curtains
    With their creeped-out, cryptic vocal hooks, Nervous Curtains’ new record, Fake Infinity, is dominated by dark, spacey organs and pulverized-sounding synthesizers. The grand piano that dominated the Dallas, TX-based trio’s 2010 debut, Out of Sync with Time, is used sparingly, lending these songs an aura of impenetrability and blackness.

    Sean Kirkpatrick, formerly of The Paper Chase (he also had stints in Spoon and Maxine’s Radiator), has written a record rich with the dislocation and anxious agitation of ’70s post-punkers such as Magazine or early Ultravox. Possessed of a jagged, moody aesthetic, Kirkpatrick creates narrators whose pathologies and disorders put them at odds with the world around them. Album centerpiece “It’s the End of Eternity” is an invitation into a post-apocalyptic adulthood world; he describes a landscape where discarded metal bakes on the broken concrete foundations of abandoned buildings and carefree summers of youth have given way to oppressive heat waves.

    And now here is the track “Wired To Make Waves” from Nervous Curtains newest album Fake Infinity:

    Wired To Make Waves – Nervous Curtains by Free Music Friday

    Website Pin Facebook Twitter Myspace Friendfeed Technorati del.icio.us Digg Google StumbleUpon Premium Responsive

    Leave a Reply