• The Good, The Bad & The Queen To Release New Album

    The 16th of November sees the release of Merrie Land, the second album from The Good, The Bad & The Queen, a band comprised of Damon Albarn, Paul Simonon, Tony Allen and Simon Tong.

    Following an eleven-year hiatus since their eponymous debut, the four musical storytellers are back  with Merrie Land, which will be self-released on the newly created label Studio 13. Produced by Tony Visconti and The Good, The Bad & The Queen, Merrie Land contains 10 new songs – written during the current period in which the UK is preparing to leave the European Union – creating a reluctant good- bye letter, a series of observations and reflections on Britishness in 2018. Merrie Land’s focus moves beyond GBQ’s London-themed first album to a wider land, with a beautiful and hopeful paean to the Britain of today, an inclusive Britain, currently in an Anglo-Saxostentialist crises at the end of a relationship, wondering what might be salvaged. Could there be a more perfect band – with their creative symbiosis of pasts and present and shared acclaimed music histories – to reflect on the anticipation, disorientation and confusion of current life.

    The full track listing for Merrie Land is:
    – Merrie Land
    – Gun to the Head
    – Nineteen Seventeen
    – The Great Fire
    – Lady Boston
    – Drifters & Trawlers
    – The Truce of Twilight
    – Ribbons
    – The Last Man to Leave
    – The Poison Tree

    December sees the band set out on tour for a run of UK shows, performing this collection of new songs live, for the very first time, in Blackpool, Glasgow and East London. Tickets go on sale this Friday 23rd October at 9am.

    Website Pin Facebook Twitter Myspace Friendfeed Technorati del.icio.us Digg Google StumbleUpon Premium Responsive

    Comments are closed.